Organization


Our mission

The mission of Innovation maritime is to contribute to the development of the marine sector and stimulate excellence through innovation. Innovation maritime aims to develop solutions for the benefit of companies through applied research, technical assistance and information distribution.

Our values

  • Forward-thinker

    Innovation maritime wants to be the leader in its field, a leader, a visionary and before its time.

  • Team spirit

    This translates into active involvement of everyone, listening, sharing of expertise and information, pursuit of common goals, collaboration and a positive attitude within the organization.

  • Professionalism

    Characterized by the respect of the partners, the quality of the work of the employees, by their professional rigor, by the update of their knowledge as well as by their high level of performance and expertise.

  • Commitment

    Our sense of belonging and commitment to the organization and its objectives (dynamic coordination of efforts and actions to achieve results).

History

Since its creation, Innovation maritime has completed more than 350 applied research, technical assistance and information dissemination projects on behalf of or in partnership with the Canadian marine sector.

Timeline

2001


In 2001, Innovation maritime begins its activities and quickly establishes a multidisciplinary team to answer the needs of navigation sectors, management of the marine transport and ports, marine mechanics, naval architecture as well as professional diving.

 

2002


Innovation maritime is recognized as a College Center for Technology Transfer (CCTT) in 2002. From December, individuals and companies that entrust Innovation maritime with a research and development mandate can benefit from significant tax credits through the Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR & ED) tax credit programs.

 

2003


The submariner evacuation simulator, inaugurated in the spring of 2003, is making a name for itself around the world. This installation represents the fruit of a team project that combines all the expertise of Innovation maritime, from conception until it’s put into operation

 

2006


A year of strong growth for Innovation maritime in 2006, where about fifty projects are completed, including a successful collaboration between four regional research centers generates a demonstration project of ballast water treatment which represents an environmental concern for the marine industry.

 

2010


Built in 2010, the prototyping workshop of Innovation maritime was funded by the Québec government and the Rimouski Collège. It’s a 1,500 m2 workshop with an electronic design laboratory and an adjacent gas laboratory as well as a multipurpose room. The workshop contains applied research and prototyping equipment, some of which were purchased as part of this investment. This workshop is used to develop and test technological innovations to facilitate the development of SMEs in Québec; to demonstrate technology and familiarize IMQ students with new technologies affecting their profession.

 

2015


Innovation maritime takes stock of its activities over the past five years and leads a reflection on identifying its strengths/weaknesses, reviews its position and defines its future orientations. An assessment of its CCTT status is being conducted and the Québec government has confirmed the renewal of its core funding for the next five years. This announcement reflects the relevance and quality of projects completed in recent years and also the recognition of Innovation maritime’s mandate in the marine sector.

 

Team

Depending on the nature of the projects and the mandates that are entrusted to the research center, the teams can be remodeled to gather all the necessary expertise for their realization.

In addition, all this expertise is backed by strong skills in administration, business management and finance.

Administration / Business Development

  • Sylvain Lafrance

    Executive Director, ext. 4601
    slafrance@imar.ca

  • Alexandre Boudreau

    Business Development Director, ext. 4605
    aboudreau@imar.ca

  • Isabelle Durette

    Executive Assistant, ext. 4600
    idurette@imar.ca

  • Marie-Josée Caron

    Financial Controller, ext. 4602
    mjcaron@imar.ca

Maritime Intelligence

  • Dany Lamontagne

    Team Leader – AI Specialist, ext. 4603
    dlamontagne@imar.ca

  • Brice Boulangeot

    IT analyst, ext. 4604
    bboulangeot@imar.ca

  • Emmanuelle Doucet

    Programmer, ext. 4613
    edoucet@imar.ca

  • Catherine Mathieu

    Analyst Programmer, ext. 4606
    cmathieu@imar.ca

  • Marcel Ramet

    3D Modeler/Artist, ext. 4612
    mramet@imar.ca

    Engineering

    Associate teachers

    • Jerry Young

      Master Mariner certificate
      Teacher – Navigation, IMQ

    • Christian Côté

      Teacher – Naval Architecture, IMQ

    • André Cyr

      Teacher – Naval Architecture, IMQ

    • Mohamad Issa

      Teacher – Electricity, IMQ

    • Jean-Christophe Gauthier-Marquis

      Teacher – Physics, IMQ

    • Luc Dubé

      Teacher – Transport logistics, IMQ

    • Gabriel Dugas

      Eng. – Team leader, ext. 4629
      gdugas@imar.ca

    • Bruno Tremblay

      Eng., ext. 4605
      btremblay@imar.ca

    • Olivier Robin

      Acoustic Specialist
      orobin@imar.ca

    • Naceur Zidi

      CEP, M. Sc., ext. 4624
      nzidi@imar.ca

    • Éric Perreault

      CEP, ext. 4609
      eperreault@imar.ca

    • Alexandre Nault

      Eng., ext. 4615
      anault@imar.ca

    • François Xavier Rioux

      Jr Eng., ext. 4618
      fxrioux@imar.ca

    • Jean-Christophe Gauthier-Marquis

      Physicist., ext. 4625
      jcgmarquis@imar.ca

    • Marc-André Cusson

      CEP
      macusson@imar.ca

    • Samuel Desgagné

      Mechanical Engineering tech., ext. 4626
      sdesgagne@imar.ca

    Board of directors

    • Pierre Parent

      President
      Pilot – Mid St. Lawrence Pilots Corporation

    • Maria Danilenko

      Administrator
      Senior Manager, Operational Excellence – Canada Steamship Lines (CSL)

    • Christian Côté

      Administrator
      Professor, Department of Naval Architecture – Institut maritime du Québec

    • Mélanie Leblanc

      Vice-president
      Director – Institut maritime du Québec

    • Éric Hudier

      Secretary Treasurer
      Professor, mathematics department, computer and engineering, Director of Bachelor of Engineering Programs – Université du Québec à Rimouski

    • Jean-François Belzile

      Administrator
      Director of Operations and Captain – Port of Montreal